jump to navigation

Gegen die Wand (2004) – His Review October 10, 2006

Posted by Jinx in Drama, Movies.
trackback

temp

Dir. Fatih Akin

Starring Birol Ünel and Sibel Kekilli

Gegen die Wand has an 8.1 rating at IMDb. Since I disagree with most of the voters I’m just gonna tell you some of the key things I didn’t like about the movie. Don’t be hatin’.

  • Mean drunks who are really mean and really drunk don’t interest me.
  • Woman-beating is something I’d rather not see up close and personal.
  • The red thread throughout the story is just knots of unresolved plot.
  • I didn’t like the movie Irreversible. This is the same movie, except less extreme.
  • I can see why people may enjoy it. It’s a very competent movie, and any movie with good enough craftsmanship finds an audience, if only with movie snobs. That doesn’t really win me over though, when all the characters are unlikeable for one reason or another, and the world they inhabit is harsh and opaque. There’s noone to connect to, and I was left feeling like I was watching Bumfights or something, and I’d rather not.

    This is His review, you can read Her review here.

    Keywords: , ,

    Comments»

    1. Gegen die Wand (2004) - Her Review « 4eyes - His and Her movie reviews - October 10, 2006

    [...] This is Her review, you can read His review here [...]

    2. Michael Tim - February 28, 2009

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

    3. Michael Tim - February 28, 2009

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!


    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

