jump to navigation

A History of Violence (2005) – His Review November 26, 2006

Posted by Jinx in Action, Drama, Movies, Thriller.
trackback

temporary

Dir. David Cronenberg

Starring Viggo Mortensen, Maria Bello, Ed Harris, Ashton Holmes, William Hurt etc.

The name Cronenberg should mean something to most people. To me he’s “not the weird guy who made Twin Peaks, the other one”. Call me uninvolved, but I’m not really a fan.

A History of Violence is a good start to making me one. It’s intense in it’s stillness, and very much seething with the titular violence. Homely small town diner-owner Tom Stall (Mortensen) takes on the forces of darkness from his own past, while trying to keep his family out of harms way. It’s all written and played very small, with bursts of plot/character development/action. This makes the whole experience come together as one entity, with nothing to detract or disorient.

Acting – superb. Photo – perfect fit. Movie – fantastic. I can’t see any reason not to see this movie, unless you’re a whore of Satan. You’re not a whore of Satan are you?

This is His review, you can read Her review here.

Keywords: , ,

Comments»

1. A History of Violence (2005) - Her Review « 4eyes - His and Her movie reviews - November 26, 2006

[...] This is Her review, you can read His review here. [...]

2. Third Opinion - November 26, 2006

I am certainly not a whore of Satan (sounds like a pretty shitty job actually) and thus I do enjoy A History Of Violence and most of Mr. Cronenberg’s output.
There’s just one thing I need to say. I’ve heard more than one person (maybe just two) saying about the movie: “I liked it a lot, but the sex was so unnecessary.” Uhm, fucking WHAT? Did you even watch the movie? Hello?!? The sex was EXTREMELY necessary. Je-sus.
Anyway. Cronenberg has been doing some odd movies as well as pretty ordinary creep-out gorefilms, and if you enjoyed Violence you may not at all like his other films. I’d recommend Crash (no, not that shit from last year) and maybe Dead Ringers and Videodrome.

3. Eury - November 27, 2006

I agree with Third Opinion, the sex is not in the least gratuitous.. I pondered whether I should talk about this in my review and decided that it would be too difficult to explain without giving too much away, but I wholeheartedly agree that it was necessary.

4. Zack Gonzales - January 9, 2007

just about the best durn movie cronenbergs ever done. period. better than even seth brundle the fly.

5. Michael Tim - February 28, 2009

I love your site!

_____________________
Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

6. 初体験 - February 25, 2010

これおすすめっす!!

オナニー
童貞
筆おろし
童貞
逆援


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

