jump to navigation

X-Men 3: The Last Stand (2006) July 23, 2006

Posted by Eury in Action, Adventure, Movies, Sci-Fi.
trackback

X-Men 3: The Last StandDir. Brett Ratner

Starring Hugh Jackman, Halle Berry, Ian McKellen, Famke Janssen, Patrick Steward, Kelsey Grammar etc.,

I had seen the 1st X-Men movie and although I missed the second one, I really thought I would enjoy this one. The premise of this movie is that they have found a cure for mutants and supposedly this would be their fight for the right to remain as they are.

Visually, for the most part, this is a good looking movie. The action scenes are well pulled off, and Halle Berry’s Storm looks just awesome doing a tornado spin and there are a few scenes in the woods that look great because of the backlit mist seen through dark trees which had a very painterly feel to it.

Warning: Spoilers Ahead

The problem with this movie, though, was I felt I needed to be a diehard X-Men fan, that had read all the comics because I had no idea what was going on for the most part. I would have liked them to maybe take a few minutes somewhere in the film to give me a little recap of what happened in the 1st and 2nd movie. I don’t think it would have been very difficult to do… and would have helped someone like me, who although I do know a bit about the X-Men, I did not know enough to do a roll-call of all their names and what their super powers were. Rarely did anyone get called by name and I was constantly trying to figure out why certain people were doing certain things.

Jean Grey arises as the Phoenix in this movie, only to kill off Cyclops right off the bat and I’m not sure why because she supposedly loves him and he is the one that allows her to combat this side of her, which by the way, did not really make her seem all mighty powerful to me as much as it made her look like a crazed demonic shedevil.

Magneto seems to have legions of mutants that have joined his cause, which is to fight the cure… and why they are against the x-men is beyond me… cause they both seem to be against the cure and both want to have the powerful Jean Grey on their side, but beyond that… nothing is really explained; If you didn’t know… well, that’s just too bad for you.

As for the mutants, besides the X-Men, there seems to be literally thousands of them. Where the heck did they all come from? There seemed to be more mutants in this movie than regular people. One of them in particular, just made me laugh. This very strong and very stupid mutant called Juggernaut, who wore some weird helmet on his head that looked like it was crafted by children for a school play.
The movie just never really attempts to connect with the viewer on an emotional basis at all. We see Rogue… who wants to take the cure, they never really explain why and she’s pretty much on the back burner during the whole film, while I think that would be something they should have showcased. I had to ask Jinx why, because , as for many parts of this movie… nothing was really explained. It was just concluded that we already knew. I wanted to feel for the characters, but they really didn’t do any character building in this movie.. so it felt to me they were just a bunch of people fighting other people without me really rooting for one side.

This movie was like a pretty house with nobody home.

Keywords: Superheroes, X-Men, Marvel, Mutants

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

