jump to navigation

Rosencrantz & Guildenstern are Dead (1990) July 25, 2006

Posted by Eury in Comedy, Drama, Movies.
trackback

Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are dead (1990)

Dir. Tom Stoppard

Gary Oldman, Tim Roth, Richard Dreyfuss etc.,

If you think the title of this movie is a bit of a mouthful, so is the movie… it’s full of quips and puns that twist and turn and keep you on your toes.

Rarely do I watch a movie where I feel a bit like an uncultured person because obviously this probably would have been easier to follow if I knew Shakespeare’s plays and more about the characters such as Hamlet and Ophelia. I’m not sure what it says about me that I recognized her more because of a simple shot of her, drowned, underwater…. as she had been painted by famous artists, than for her role in one of his plays.

The writing is smart and kept making me smirk and smile at how easily the English language can be turned on it’s head by a writer who contorts sentences like the most flexible acrobat.

This movie was smart and funny (even though I didn’t understand it all ) I really did enjoy when Rosencrantz (hmm…. or was it Guildenstern 😉 ) was always on the verge of some major scientific discovery and I even liked the play within a play of the tragedians acting out a swordfight sans epée and with red cloth as blood. I was as immersed in that scene as I would have been if there were actual swords and real blood. The acting was superb.

I did feel a little lost because I couldn’t figure out where the movie was actually supposed to be taking me and kept asking myself the same question that Rosencrantz and Guildenstern ask: “What’s it all about” and I guess, that’s exactly the point.

Keywords: Shakespeare, Quirky

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

