jump to navigation

Everyone Says I Love You (1996) – Her Review August 7, 2006

Posted by Eury in Comedy, Movies, Musical.
trackback

Look, Ma, no Hands!

Dir. Woody Allen
Starring Natasha Lyonne, Drew Barrymore, Edward Norton, Alan Alda, Goldie Hawn,

Although the title would tend to imply differently, this is not a romantic comedy, in fact it isn’t romantic at all, but it is funny. It instead takes a look at love and romance in a satirical way by going a bit over the top and looks back at a time when love at the movies was simple and cute and a great excuse for anyone to break out into a song and dance routine.

The movie is narrated by D.J. Berlin, (Natasha Lyonne) who plays Joe Berlin’s and Stephie Dandridge’s (Woody Allen and Goldie Hawn) daughter and Bob Dandridge’s (Alan Alda) step-daughter.

Through her eyes, we see her family and their love ups and downs. We see their misguided but well-intentioned decisions including her own. It’s like the title says: “Everyone says I love you”… and although they may mean it when they say it, they often say it lightly. Don’t get me wrong, this is not at all a melancholic or dramatic movie that will get you down; instead it pokes fun at our ideas of love and romance just like in the old movies back when you simply whisk off the person you love to Paris or Venice, The dialogue is fast and witty, which is to be expected in a Woody Allen Movie.

This movie surprised me as I was not expecting a musical especially not one where we are thrown back into the sounds of the 30’s and 40’s… The first dance scene make me smirk, because, as in all golden-era musicals, the setting at the jewelers had a vast amount of floor room… something we always laugh about old musicals … I could just feel a dance number coming up… and I was not disappointed. Everyone dances in this movie, from pregnant ladies to cripples, to costumed trick-or-treating children heck, even dead people… and it’s all in good fun.

What I missed in this movie was perhaps a bit of heart and warmth. I like comedies (doesn’t everyone?) but I want to feel something with at a least one person in a movie.. I want someone to attach my emotions to and either get a bit choked up or at least cheer them on or have a “YAY!” moment. I missed that here. It was fun but not the type of movie I would put on my list of movies to be seen more than once.

This is Her review, you can read His review here

Keywords: , ,

Comments»

1. 4eyes - His and Her movie reviews » Everyone Says I Love You (1996) - His Review - August 7, 2006

[…] This is His review, you can read Her review here […]


Leave a Reply

